Coursebook authors fight back #ELTchat Summary 01/05/2013

This is a summary of the 1200 PM BST #ELTchat held on May 5, 2013. The topic of the chat was inspired by two IATEFL sessions The ELTJ Debate (a debate about whether coursebooks reflect students’ lives and needs with Scott Thornbury vs Catherine Walters) and The decline and fall of coursebooks (a talk by Simon Greenall). You can also read Scott and Catherine‘s follow up blog posts.

After the staid and dry way in which I wrote my first summary, I thought I’d try something different. What better way to summarize a great rambling chat like this than with a rambling infographic. The summary can also be downloaded as a PDF in case you need to copy any text.  

Coursebook authors fight back ELTchat Summary 01.05.2013

8 thoughts on “Coursebook authors fight back #ELTchat Summary 01/05/2013

  1. I’m not sure it works either but I wanted to experiment with something different. I chose to represent the chat like this because I wanted to demonstrate that the discussion was quite circular, meandering and double-backing frequently Don’t know if that comes across. Do the icons look out of place? They were an afterthought because I thought the layout looked a little naked.

    Like

  2. Really interesting way to visualise the chat, Adi. Well done for that. Personally I like it and agree with your earlier comment that it matches the circular nature of the course book debate.

    I wonder, since I can’t see it immediately: did anyone mention students being involved in the creation of their own ‘course books’? With the Internet and easy-to-use (portable) devices, it shouldn’t be impossible to source interesting reading material, images, links to audio that would truly reflect the interests of the students in the room.

    Best,

    Mike

    Like

  3. Thanks Mike. There was some talk of students bringing in their own materials and earlier in the discussion, people referred to dynamic coursebooks that pick up “fresh” content from the web (albeit curated by a team of teachers). However, I don’t think anyone put the two together. Learners designing their own e-coursebooks sounds really exciting but could be a logistical nightmare. Have you heard of anyone trying this approach?

    Like

  4. What a gorgeous chart! Well done Adi 🙂 Like Mike, I’m a little curious if anyone mentioned student written course books as I taught a beginner class that did that for the first time this year… I just love the alarm clock – sync metaphor icon btw. Thank you

    Like

  5. Thanks Divya. Really means a lot to me that you took out time to read my blog.

    We skirted the issue of student written course books but did not explicitly discuss it. Would love to hear more about your experience with organizing and using student written course books.

    Like

Leave a Reply

